Financial Fundamentals Blog

7 17 Credit Union Scholarship Applications Now Available!

As a community-minded financial institution, 7 17 Credit Union provides services and products that make a difference for our members and the communities we serve.

Our products and services cover a broad range of needs, including checking, loans and for a lucky few, scholarships to offset the cost of higher education or trade school.

Over the last five years, we’ve given $90,000 to local students pursuing a college degree or learning a trade. 7 17 offers eight, $1,500 university scholarships (four merit scholarships and four spirit scholarships) that are awarded based on grade point average and school and community involvement. Recipients are chosen by, and attend the following universities: Youngstown State University, The University of Akron, Kent State University Main Campus and Kent State University’s regional campuses.

In addition to the university scholarships, 7 17 awards four $1,500 scholarships that illustrate our commitment to developing good financial habits early.
Two awards are given to members of our Cha-Ching Teen Club and can be used by the students to further their education at any accredited university or trade school. Scholarship applications are evaluated primarily on a written essay.
7 17 also awards two scholarships to members of our young adult program, The Edge Club, which was designed to meet the unique needs of 18 to 25 year-oldsThis program was developed to build upon the financial products and services offered to our Cha-Ching members as they become more independent and begin to make more financial decisions on their own.
Like the Cha-Ching Teen Club awards, The Edge scholarships are available for use at any accredited university or trade school. Members can apply for this scholarship each year they are pursuing a post-secondary education at an accredited university or trade school. Applicants are evaluated on their academic success and community commitment, and are asked to write a short essay.
Scholarship applications for the 2020-2021 academic year are now available and can be downloaded at and will be available in all high school guidance offices in the communities 7 17 serves later this month. Applications for the 2020-2021 academic year are due to the credit union by March 1, 2020.
*Important note: Applicants do not need to be a member of 7 17 Credit Union to apply for our spirit scholarships. However, applicants for the merit, Cha-Ching and The Edge scholarship must be members of 7 17 Credit Union.
Our 2019 scholarship winners are:

Kent State University

  • Carter Huff, Lakeview High School
  • Rachel Barrackman, Chalker High School

Kent State University - regional campus (Ashtabula, Salem, Stark and Trumbull counties only)

  • Lindsey Stevens, Champion High School
  • Lloya Hopkins, Chaney High School

Youngstown State University

  • Emily Kujala, LaBrae High School
  • Jenna Kish, Struthers High School

University of Akron

  • Miles Spearman, Boardman High School
  • David McKinney, Jr., Warren G. Harding High School

Cha-Ching Teen Club

  • Joshua Boehm, Stow-Munroe Fall High School
  • Hannah Zucco, Niles McKinley High School

The Edge Club

  • Hannah Yuhas, Kent State University
  • Tyler Miller-Gordon, Hubbard High School

Congratulations to our 2019 scholarship winners!